Connecticut Car Insurance
Car insurance is the law for drivers in Connecticut. Drivers are requires to carry minimum liability insurance of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for bodily injury and $10,000 minimum coverage for property damage. Connecticut also requires drivers to purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (“UIM”) coverage with limits at a minimum of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for bodily injury.
UIM coverage pays damages in the event the driver at fault for an accident is uninsured or does not have enough insurance to pay for the damages sustained by the other driver(s) or passengers. It is an important form of coverage as there are too many Connecticut drivers on the road that are uninsured or do not have enough insurance.
An example of UIM coverage would be if a UIM insured driver was involved in an accident in which the driver at fault was uninsured or did not have enough insurance, the insured driver would be able make a UIM claim with their auto insurance company. For their UIM claim, the insured would be able to receive up to $20,000 for their own bodily injury damages. Their insurance company would pay up to $40,000 for all UIM bodily injury claims stemming from the accident.
PIP insurance is optional no fault coverage that pays for “reasonable and necessary” medical bills for the insured driver and their passengers following an accident. PIP coverage is the primary form of medical coverage for an auto accident in Connecticut. For bills from an accident beyond the PIP limits, the insured would be able to submit them to their health insurer.
Other Optional Types of Coverage
Other important available insurance coverage types in Connecticut include Collision and Comprehensive coverage. These coverage types are not required by law but can be very important in the event of an accident. Many financial institutions require vehicle owners to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage as a condition of their loan. These coverage types can be discontinued once a car is paid off or for an older car.
Keep Your Car Insurance Current
Connecticut drivers should never allow their auto insurance policies to lapse. Besides being against the law, each day hundreds of Connecticut drivers are involved in car accidents. Uninsured drivers in Connecticut receive tickets, pay fines and may be forced to comply with state financial responsibility laws, which require them to purchase expensive SR–22 Insurance. They can also be held personally responsible for all damages caused in an accident, which can be hundreds of thousands of dollars in damages. Driving in Connecticut without car insurance is fiscally irresponsible and can lead to financial ruin.
Get A Free Quote from BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net
Drivers in Connecticut have more than a dozen auto insurance companies to choose from. National insurers such as Allstate, Progressive, Geico, and Liberty Mutual all sell auto insurance in Connecticut. Whether you live Bridgeport, Hartford, Stamford, or New Haven, use BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net to get a free quote for low cost Connecticut auto insurance. Just enter your zip code above to get started and you could be on your way to saving hundreds of dollars a year on your car insurance!