Florida Car Insurance
If you are driving a registered automobile in Florida, it must be insured. Florida is a no fault insurance state. Drivers are required to carry two mandatory forms of coverage: property damage liability coverage of at least $10,000 and personal injury protection (“PIP”) in the amount of at least $10,000. Florida drivers may also be required to purchase Bodily Injury Liability coverage if they have been involved in a crash or been convicted of a certain offense.
Florida drivers should carefully review their auto insurance policy to understand its terms, coverage amounts, and limitations. Purchasing coverage beyond the minimum limits is a wise idea. Florida car insurance requirements do not include coverage for the insured’s vehicle if they are at fault for the accident.
PIP covers medical expenses for the injured party and their passengers in an accident regardless of fault. PIP is the primary form of medical coverage following an auto accident. Relatives residing in the same household as the insured may also be covered by PIP. If the injured party incurs medical bills beyond the PIP limits, they may bill their health insurer for additional expenses.
Optional Insurance Coverage Types
Other important coverage types in Florida include Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (“UIM”) coverage, collision, and comprehensive. Collision and comprehensive coverage may not be required by law but many financial institutions require vehicle owners to purchase them as a condition of their loans. They are both very important in protecting your vehicle’s value and covering the cost of repairs in the event of an accident.
Collision pays for vehicle repairs or vehicle replacement value following a collision regardless of fault. Comprehensive coverage pays for all vehicle repair damage or replacement value for incidents other than a collision such as the tree falling on a car or the car being stolen. There are minimum deductible limits for these collision and comprehensive such as $500, but drivers can also raise their deductible amounts to lower their premiums.
UIM coverage applies in the event the at–fault driver in the accident is uninsured or does not have enough insurance to pay for the damages sustained by the other driver(s) or passengers in the accident. For example, if a driver in an accident had UIM coverage, he or she would be able make a UIM claim with their auto insurance company and be able to receive up to the UIM limits for their own bodily injury damages stemming from the accident.
Keep Your Insurance Current
It is very important that Florida drivers do not allow their auto insurance policies to lapse. Failure to maintain insurance can lead to having your driver’s license revoked and having a car’s tags and registrations suspended up to three years or until proof of a value Florida auto insurance policy is presented. Each day, hundreds of Florida drivers are involved in car accidents. Smart drivers have the amount of insurance coverage they need to protect themselves and their assets.
Besides facing tickets, fines, and the loss of your vehicle, uninsured drivers in Florida may be forced to comply with state financial responsibility laws, which require them to purchase expensive SR–22 Insurance. Uninsured or underinsured driver can also be held personally responsible for all damages caused in an accident. Driving without car insurance in Florida is imprudent and can lead to financial ruin.
Use BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net To Get a Free Quote
Drivers in Florida have more than a dozen auto insurance companies to choose from. Large insurers such as Allstate, Liberty Mutual, Progressive, and Geico all sell auto insurance in Florida. Whether you live in Miami, Tampa, Orlando, or Jacksonville, use BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net to get a free quote for low cost Florida auto insurance. Just enter your zip code above to get started and you could be on your way to saving hundreds of dollars a year on your Florida car insurance.