Louisiana Car Insurance
Car insurance is the law in the state of Louisiana. Drivers in Louisiana must carry minimum liability insurance of $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 minimum coverage for property damage. This amount of coverage may be more simply stated as 15/30/25. The only autos excluded from Louisiana’s mandatory insurance laws are parade vehicles, vehicles owned by the State, and buses owned by Louisiana cities.
Know When Your Policy Expires
It is very important that Louisiana drivers do not allow their auto insurance policies to lapse. All drivers in Louisiana must show proof of insurance upon request. If a driver is caught without insurance or proof of insurance, he or she will face a fine and may also be forced to comply with state financial responsibility laws and purchase expensive SR–22 Insurance. An uninsured or underinsured drive can also be held personally responsible for all damages caused in an accident. Driving without car insurance in Louisiana is extremely unwise and can lead to financial ruin.
UIM and PIP Coverage
Louisiana drivers are not required to purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (“UIM”) or Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) coverage, but they are both important types of coverage that can be added to an auto insurance policy. A driver with UIM is insured up the amount of the UIM limits in the event the driver at fault for the accident does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to pay for the damages sustained in an accident.
For example, if a Louisiana driver with 15/30 UIM coverage was involved in an accident with an at–fault uninsured driver, he or she would be able make a UIM claim with their auto insurance company. He or she would be able receive up to $15,000 for their own bodily injury damages. Per the terms of their policy, their insurance company would pay up to $30,000 for all UIM bodily injury claims stemming from the accident.
PIP coverage pays for medical bills, lost wages, household services, and funeral expenses following an accident. It is no fault coverage. Both PIP and UIM coverage can be extremely important after an accident.
Collision and Comprehensive
Other important insurance coverage types in Louisiana include Collision and Comprehensive coverage. Collision pays for vehicle repairs or vehicle replacement value following a collision regardless of fault. Comprehensive coverage pays for all vehicle repair damage or replacement value for incidents other than a collision such as the car being stolen or a tree falling on a car. There are minimum deductible limits for these coverage types, but drivers can also raise their deductible amounts to lower their premiums. Many lenders require vehicle owners to carry both Collision and Comprehensive coverage as part of their loans.
Get A Free Quote From BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net
Louisiana drivers pay some of the highest auto insurance rates in the country, making getting the lowest price even more important. Drivers in Louisiana have dozens of insurance companies to choose from. National insurers such as Progressive, Geico, Liberty Mutual, and Allstate all sell auto insurance in Louisiana.
Whether you live in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, or Lafayette, use BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net to get low cost Louisiana auto insurance. Just enter your zip code above to get started and you could be on your way to saving hundreds of dollars a year on Louisiana car insurance.