New Mexico Car Insurance
Auto insurance is a requirement by law for drivers in New Mexico. The law requires them to carry minimum liability insurance of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury damages and $10,000 minimum coverage for property damage. In the absence of coverage, drivers can be fined by the police $450 or more for not having proof of insurance, among other penalties. Uninsured drivers may also be forced to comply with financial responsibility laws and have to purchase expensive SR-22 Insurance.
Purchase Optional Higher Limits
New Mexico drivers would be well advised to purchase additional liability coverage. The insurance industry recommends that drivers have minimum liability coverage limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence in the event of a serious accident. There are also many available optional types of coverage including Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist, Medical Payments Coverage, Comprehensive, and Collision.
Do Net Let Your Car Insurance Policy Expire
It is important that New Mexico drivers know when their car insurance policy expires to avoid a coverage lapse. Without insurance, a driver can be personally held responsible for all damage caused in an accident. Some accidents involve hundreds of thousands of dollars in damages. Driving without car insurance in New Mexico could be financially and personally devastating. Smart drivers carry auto insurance.
Save With BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net
Drivers in New Mexico have dozens of insurance companies to choose from including national insurers such as Allstate, State Farm, Liberty Mutual, and Progressive. Whether you live in Albuquerque, Santa Fe, Las Cruces, or Rio Rancho use this website to get a free quote for low cost New Mexico car insurance. Just enter your zip code above to get started and you could be on your way to saving hundreds of dollars a year on your auto insurance.