Rhode Island Car Insurance
Rhode Island requires drivers to carry minimum liability insurance of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 minimum coverage for property damage. The state further requires when you register a vehicle, that you sign a statement confirming you will carry auto insurance continuously during the registration period.
There is no Personal Injury Protection (“PIP”) coverage in Rhode Island. In Rhode Island, if you incur medical bills for an accident that is not your fault, your auto insurance company may pay your medical bills pays for medical expenses related to the accident. The company would have to be paid back for the medical bill payments out of any liability claim settlement.
Rhode Island has several other uncommon auto insurance laws. Rhode Island drivers may be able to collect temporary disability insurance from the state if an injured accident victim is a Rhode Island resident and incurs lost wages from work. Rhode Island drivers may also qualify for payment of life insurance premiums, home mortgage bills, and automobile loan if they have purchased this type of coverage
Optional Insurance Coverage Options
Other important optional coverage types available to Rhode island drivers include Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist (“UIM”) coverage, Collision, and Comprehensive. With UIM coverage, a driver is insured up to the UIM limits in the event the other driver does not have insurance or does not have a sufficient amount of insurance for the damages caused in an accident.
Collision coverage pays for vehicle repairs and replacement value regardless of fault for a collision. Comprehensive coverage pays for all vehicle damage or replacement value for incidents other than a collision such as the car being stolen or a tree falling on a car. Drivers can raise their collision and comprehensive deductible amounts to receive lower insurance rates. These types of coverage can make a big difference in the event you are in an accident.
Keep Your Car Insurance Current
Rhode Island drivers should always know when their auto insurance policy expires to avoid a lapse in coverage. Without insurance, in addition to facing fines for violating the law, uninsured drivers may also be forced to comply with state financial responsibility laws and have to purchase more expensive SR–22 Insurance coverage. Rhode Island drivers can be held financially responsible for all damages caused in an accident. Some auto accidents involve damages amounting to hundreds of thousands of dollars. Driving without auto insurance is fiscally irresponsible and can lead to financial ruin.
Save With BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net
Drivers in Rhode Island have dozens of insurance companies to choose from. In addition to larger insurers such as Allstate, Geico, Progressive, and Liberty Mutual Rhode Island drivers also have smaller, more local insurers to choose from. Whether you live in Providence, Newport, Pawtucket, or Warwick, use BestCarInsuranceCompanies.net to get low cost Rhode Island car insurance. Just enter your zip code above to get started and you could be on your way to saving hundreds of dollars a year on your auto insurance.